On September 2 this year, the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and Cornell University presented the 13th edition, dedicated to the theme “Who will finance innovation?”. The Global Innovation Index (GII) 2020 focuses on a long-standing issue for both business and political circles: how to stimulate innovative entrepreneurship and social, cultural and economic development. Today, amid a global economic shock that exacerbates the damage of the pandemic, GII 2020 will also address the urgent need for new methods of financing innovation in the post-coronavirus world.

      GII 2020 uses 80 parameters to assess the innovation potential and achievements of 131 countries and territories around the world. So, what dynamics is observed in the innovation activity of countries this year?

      First of all, re-inclusion of Uzbekistan in the Global Innovation Index after a long break is one of the main and important changes for us. This can be seen as a result of the reforms being carried out in the country, in particular, the policy of transparency and openness, as well as positive changes in the innovation sphere.

       It is known that the last time the Republic of Uzbekistan ranked 122nd out of more than 140 countries in this international rating in 2015. In 2020, Uzbekistan ranked 93rd among 131 countries.

      In the Global Innovation Index ranking, which consists of 80 indicators in 2020, Uzbekistan achieved positive results in such indicators as Institutions, Human capital & research, Infrastructure, results of the knowledge and technology economy (Knowledge & technology outputs) and Effectiveness of creative work (Creative outputs).

       In this regard, we present the results achieved in 2020 by the leading countries in the Global Innovation Index, neighboring countries and some other economies. Switzerland - 1st place, Russia - 47th place, Kazakhstan - 77th place, Kyrgyzstan - 94th place, Tajikistan - 109th place.

     It is known that one of the main tasks arising from the Decree of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan No.PF-5544 "On the Strategy of Innovative Development of the Republic of Uzbekistan for 2019-2021" is the country's entry into the top 50 countries in the Global Innovation Index by 2030.

         “In 2020, Uzbekistan returned to the Global Innovation Index,” said Minister of Innovative Development Ibrohim Abdurakhmonov. - This is a positive result of the ongoing reforms in the new Uzbekistan. 93rd place is the result of the current focus on science and resources for innovative development. Investment in science in recent years, the formation of a regulatory framework and, most importantly, the conditions created for scientists, and freedom of creativity have determined our place in the Global Innovation Index. This can be seen as a step towards attracting large investments in science and innovation in the future.

       In recent years, the Ministry of Innovative Development, in close cooperation with relevant government agencies and departments, has carried out significant work to increase the prestige of Uzbekistan in the international arena and ensure its inclusion in the Global Innovation Index. In particular,

       - Through a series of meetings and negotiations with the founders of the Global Innovation Index and more than 15 international organizations, problems have been studied that prevent Uzbekistan from being included in the rating.

       - As a result of the above cooperation, a list of unrepresented and outdated information was formed to include Uzbekistan in the rating of the Global Innovation Index and the issues of providing information in accordance with established international requirements were resolved.

        - To include Uzbekistan in the Global Innovation Index and systematically solve existing problems, many official meetings were held with local and international organizations. In particular, on October 29-31, 2019, within the framework of the Week of innovative ideas "InnoWeek.uz 2019", a round table was held on the topic "Improving the position of the Republic of Uzbekistan in the Global Innovation Index" with the participation of the leadership of the World Intellectual Property Organization, representatives of Elsevier and other foreign organizations.

The Global Innovation Index consists of 18 international indices, 5 World Economic Forum polls and quantitative statistics on 57 indicators (there are changes this year). Taking into account the fact that in 2015 the country took 4th place out of 141 countries in terms of insufficient data and outdated statistics, the inclusion of Uzbekistan in this rating in 2020 will also serve to increase its prestige in the international arena.

       Positive changes in innovation in our country are regularly recognized by international organizations. In particular, this year's Global Innovation Index, indicating changes in the innovation activity of our country, notes that the results of continuous and systemic reforms in recent years have served to include Uzbekistan in the Global Innovation Index in 2020. It should be noted separately that Uzbekistan in this rating took the fourth place in Central Asia and South Asia.

      The Ministry of Innovative Development expresses gratitude to all ministries and departments, as well as official representations of foreign organizations in the country, in particular, the Ministry of Finance, the Central Bank and the State Committee of the Republic of Uzbekistan on statistics, which worked closely to include Uzbekistan in the Global Innovation Index 2020.

Узбекистан в рейтинге GII

.
.
. .

         2 сентября текущего года Всемирная организация интеллектуальной собственности (ВОИС) и Корнельский университет представили 13-е издание, посвященное теме «Кто будет финансировать инновации?». Глобальный инновационный индекс (ГИИ) 2020 года посвящен вопросу, издавна актуальному как для деловых, так и для политических кругов: как стимулировать инновационное предпринимательство и социальное, культурное и экономическое развитие. Сегодня в условиях мирового экономического шока, который усугубляет ущерб пандемии, ГИИ-2020 также затронет вопрос острой необходимости новых методов финансирования инноваций в мире после коронавируса.

      В ГИИ-2020 используется 80 параметров для оценки инновационного потенциала и достижений 131 страны и территории мира. Итак, какая динамика наблюдается в инновационной деятельности стран в текущем году?

      Прежде всего, повторное включение Узбекистана в Глобальный инновационный индекс после длительного перерыва - одно из главных и важных изменений для нас. Это можно рассматривать как результат проводимых в стране реформ, в частности, политики прозрачности и открытости, а также позитивных изменений в инновационной сфере.

       Известно, что последний раз Республика Узбекистан занимала 122 место из более 140 стран в данном международном рейтинге в 2015 году. В 2020 году Узбекистан занял 93-место среди 131 страны.

       В рейтинге Global Innovation Index, который состоит из 80 показателей в 2020 году, Узбекистан достиг положительных результатов в таких индикаторах, как Институты (Institutions), Человеческий капитал и исследования (Human capital & research), Инфраструктура (Infrastructure), результаты экономики знаний и технологий (Knowledge & technology outputs) и Результативность творческого труда (Creative outputs).

       В этой связи мы представляем результаты, достигнутые в 2020 году ведущими странами в рейтинге Global Innovation Index, соседними странами и некоторыми другими экономиками. Швейцария – 1-место, Россия – 47-место, Казахстан – 77-место, Кыргызстан - 94-место, Таджикистан – 109-место.

     Известно, что одной из основных задач, вытекающих из Указа Президента Республики Узбекистан №ПФ-5544 «О Стратегии инновационного развития Республики Узбекистан на 2019-2021 годы» является вхождение страны к 2030 году в топ-50 стран в Глобальном инновационном индексе.

         - В 2020 году Узбекистан вернулся в Глобальный инновационный индекс, - отметил министр инновационного развития Иброхим Абдурахмонов. – Это положительный результат проводимых реформ в новом Узбекистане. 93-е место - это результат нынешнего внимания к науке и ресурсам для инновационного развития. Инвестиции в науку в последние годы, формирование нормативно-правовой базы и, самое главное, условия, созданные для ученых, и свобода творчества определили наше место в Глобальном инновационном индексе. Это можно рассматривать как шаг к привлечению крупных инвестиций в науку и инновации в будущем.

    В последние годы Министерством инновационного развития в тесном сотрудничестве с профильными государственными структурами и ведомствами проведена значительная работа по повышению престижа Узбекистана на международной арене и обеспечению его включения в Глобальный инновационный индекс. В частности,

       - Посредством серии встреч и переговоров с учредителями международного рейтинга Global Innovation Index и более чем 15 международными организациями были изучены проблемы, препятствующие включению Узбекистана в рейтинг.

       - В результате вышеуказанного сотрудничества сформирован список не представленной и устаревшей информации для включения Узбекистана в рейтинг Глобального инновационного индекса и решены вопросы предоставления информации в соответствии с установленными международными требованиями.
        - Для включения Узбекистана в рейтинг Global Innovation Index и систематического решения существующих проблем было проведено множество официальных встреч с местными и международными организациями. В частности, 29-31 октября 2019 года в рамках Недели инновационных идей «InnoWeek.uz 2019» прошел круглый стол на тему «Улучшение позиций Республики Узбекистан в Глобальном инновационном индексе» с участием руководства Всемирной организации интеллектуальной собственности, представителей Elsevier и других зарубежных организаций.

    Global Innovation Index состоит из 18 международных индексов, 5 опросов Всемирного экономического форума и количественной статистики по 57 показателям (в этом году есть изменения). Принимая во внимание тот факт, что в 2015 году страна заняла 4-е место из 141 страны по недостаточности данных и устаревшей статистике, включение Узбекистана в этот рейтинг в 2020 году также послужит повышению его престижа на международной арене.

       Позитивные изменения в инновациях в нашей стране регулярно признаются международными организациями. В частности, в выпуске Global Innovation Index этого года, указывая на изменения в инновационной активности нашей страны, отмечается, что результаты непрерывных и системных реформ в последние годы послужили включению Узбекистана в Глобальный инновационный индекс в 2020 году. Стоит отдельно отметить, что Узбекистан в данном рейтинге занял четвертое место по Центральной Азии и Южной Азии.

      Министерство инновационного развития выражает благодарность всем министерствам и ведомствам, а также официальным представительствам иностранных организаций в стране, в частности, Министерству финансов, Центральному банку и Государственному комитету РУз по статистике, которые тесно сотрудничали во включении Узбекистана в Глобальный инновационный индекс 2020.